Who can found a new side
There was a line in PC about any barbarian warlord being able to start a Capital Side given a city site from which to rebuild. I... can't find any evidence of this. Every example thus far has basically shown only former Rulers or Heirs (the kind of people that could run a Side anyway) to have this ability. While I'm not ruling out that any Barbarian warlord could start a side, it doesn't look like there's evidence for or against that yet. So I moved it to Speculation. Menlo Marseilles 12:10, 4 November 2009 (UTC)
- I remember reading it somewhere in BfGK, but I don't remember where... Sometime when I re-read, I'll link it. If I can find it. Miment 18:13, 4 November 2009 (UTC)
- In fact, there is circumstantial evidence for 'any' warlord being capable of founding a new side if a suitable capital site is found, the main limitations probably being loyalty mechanics - see WB2014 Duke Forecastle - Part 21... Duke Forecastle defected and founded a new side - though as a colony of Seaworld, which is another mechanic that hadn't been explored much yet. I'd say any barbarian warlord, in possession of a potential capital site, may found a side. I do wonder about cost - IIRC Don King funded Jillian's re-founding of Faq, but I wonder how a defecting unit such as Forecastle may be able to pay the cost of founding a capital, even a Lv1. Sigmoid (talk) 03:05, 6 January 2017 (EST)
- Founding a side and starting a side are being used interchangeably here, but the only time I can recall about founding a city is when Wanda ordered a city burned instead of attacking it. In this case, the hex type was changed to Ash after inferno and Sizemore had to 're-found' the city at a sizable schmuckers cost (which raises questions about capital sites, but that should probably go on Talk:Capital Sites). The point being that any non-aligned commander seem capable of creating a new side should they find a capital site, but probably aren't able to found one given the purse size restriction on unsided units. Knavigator (talk) 07:47, 6 January 2017 (EST)
Do barbarian casters in the Magic Kingdom have to pay their own upkeep, or does the MK provide? They have Rands for trade, but those are different. If so, many "free" casters must be afraid of disbandment if they can't get work (especially unpopular ones like Predictamancers), but I have yet to see any casters show any concern over such things.
- Yes, they have to pay their own upkeep. I'm guessing that it's taboo for MK casters to outright turn to a new side. As far as rands go, they won't pay upkeep directly, but they could always try trading them for gems or rations. As to concern over disbanding, yeah, it does seem a bit odd that the Carnymancer in WB2014 Digdoug – Episode 8 seems to be the only caster we've seen thus far that is undergoing hard times. Erfworlders don't seem to die of old age, and the oldest known casters are in their 80s as opposed to 200s (the minimum age of Erfworld), so they probably do have problems. Maybe it just hasn't been important enough to portray thus far, or the Hippiemancers operate breadlines?--126.96.36.199 01:51, 5 March 2014 (EST)